Leave a comment

Ghana; Our ‘Forgotten’ Words.

“Ghana my happy home. Land of rich resources. Land of mighty talent…” These are words of a song I used to hear a lot when I was a kid. But for some strange reason I hardly hear such patriotic songs. The words of such songs are so strong and profound I wonder why we don’t hear them often.

My favourites are the National Anthem and National Pledge;

The National Anthem

God bless our homeland Ghana,

And make our nation great and strong,

Bold to defend for ever

The cause of Freedom and of Right;

Fill our hearts with true humility,

Make us cherish fearless honesty,

And help us to resist oppressors’ rule

With all our will and might for evermore.

The National Pledge

I promise on my honour to be faithful and loyal to Ghana my motherland.

I pledge myself to the service of Ghana with all my strength and with all my heart.

I promise to hold in high esteem, our heritage won for us through the blood and toil of our fathers, and

I pledge myself in all things to uphold and defend the good name of Ghana.

So help me God.

Leave a Reply

